Administrator’s Biography

Her Honour the Honourable Vicki O’Halloran AM was sworn in as the 22nd Administrator of the Northern Territory on 31 October 2017.

As Administrator Her Honour is at the same time Her Majesty The Queen’s Representative, the Governor-General’s Representative and the Senior Australian Government Representative in the Northern Territory. Her Honour performs a similar constitutional role to that of a State Governor and does not participate in the political process.

Her Honour was born in Tasmania and moved to Darwin in 1991, where she has resided for the past 26 years with her husband Craig and their daughter Coco.

Prior to her appointment as Administrator of the Northern Territory, Her Honour was the Chief Executive Officer of Somerville Community Services, a non-government, not for profit, youth, family and community welfare organisation indigenous to the Northern Territory.

Her Honour has also been involved in a range of commitments, sitting on numerous boards and committees at both the local and national levels.  Her Honour was Chair of National Disability Services Northern Territory (served as National President of National Disability Services from 2012-2015) and the Northern Territory Government Ministerial Advisory Council on Disability Reform, as well as a Board Member of National Disability Services and the Northern Territory Council of Social Services. Her Honour was a Committee Member of the Northern Territory Government Community Benefit Fund, the National Disability Insurance Scheme Pricing Committee, the National Disability Insurance Scheme Operations Committee, the National Disability Insurance Agency Independent Advisory Council’s Housing Innovations Working Group and the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD) Northern Territory, as well as the AICD Not for Profit Chairs Forum and the Territory Economic Summit External Reference Group.

Her Honour was also a member of the Children Australia Journal’s Editorial Board and has been a juror of the Australian Institute of Architects Northern Territory Architecture Awards.

In 2015 Her Honour was a Territory (State) Finalist for Australian of the Year.  In 2013 she was appointed to the Northern Territory Government Events Ambassador Program, a position she held for two years.  Her Honour was awarded the Telstra Northern Territory Business Woman of the Year in 1998.

Her Honour was made a Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AM) in 2014 for her significant service to people with a disability.  Her Honour has a Bachelor of Children’s Services and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.